Skip to content

Review: “The Ruins of Gorlan”by John Flanagan

February 5, 2016

ruinsIn “The Ruins of Gorlan,” the first book of John Flanagan’s “Ranger’s Apprentice” series, Will is an orphan that has been recruited in the Royal Rangers. When a hooded stranger tells the baron that Will is not worthy of being an apprentice and gives the baron a mysterious note, Will is annoyed. He scales the castle wall to find out what that note says, never dreaming of the adventure he is about to get into.

Will learns how to survive in the wild and how to use the tools and knowledge of the Rangers. When two wild beasts are released upon the kingdom, Will and his Mentor Halt must track down and defeat this evil menace.

School Library Journal recommends this book for readers in grades four to eight.

–Ken K., Grant’s View

Winner 2016 Printz Award

February 1, 2016

bone gapThis January, the ALA crowned its 17th Printz Award winner– the highest honor in all of teen literature. The 2016 award was given to “Bone Gap” by Laura Ruby. “Bone Gap” tells the story of brothers Finn and Sean O’Sullivan and of Roza, a young woman from Poland who finds herself ingrained into the brothers’ lives only to be tragically ripped away from them. To give away more of the plot would be cruel, since this book is so strange and magical that you just really have to read it yourself. I found myself so engrossed in the story, the atmosphere of the small town, and the heartbreaking characters that I almost literally could not put this book down.

Two other books were awarded Printz Honors this year: “Out of Darkness” by Ashley Hope Perez and “The Ghosts of Heaven” by Marcus Sedgwick.

School Library Journal recommends “Bone Gap” for readers in grade 10 and up.

-Samantha D., Weber Road

Review: “Trouble is a Friend of Mine” by Stephanie Tromly

January 29, 2016
tags: ,
by

troubleIn “Trouble is a friend of Mine” by Stephanie Tromly, Zoe Webster is the new girl in town, and she gets sucked into a friendship with Digby, the school’s resident weirdo. Zoe, Digby, and a host of other characters attempt to figure out what happened to a missing girl, what the creepy town cult is up to, and what happened to Digby’s little sister all those years ago. Fans of “Pretty Little Liars” and “Sherlock” will love this strangely funny mystery.

School Library Journal recommends this title for grades 9 and up.

–Samantha D., Weber Road

Movie Trailer: “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies”

January 27, 2016

Zombies and Jane Austen…yes, please!

Win passes to an advanced screening of “The 5th Wave”

January 13, 2016
by

5th wave - ONE-SHEETBe one of the first to watch the new movie “The 5th Wave” starring Chloe Grace Moretz. We are giving way passes to attend an advanced screening  on Wednesday, January 20  at 7:00 p.m. at the Wehrenberg Ronnie’s 20.

By answering one trivia question correctly you have a chance to win tickets to an advanced screening along with a prize pack.

Here’s how to win the passes:

1. Answer this trivia question correctly: In what state do the events in the 5th Wave take place?

2. Email your answer to ContestStLouis@alliedim.com and with a subject of 5THWAVE–SLCL Contest.

You have until Tuesday, January 19 at 5:00 p.m. to submit your answers. Winners will be notified by noon on January 20.

Screening passes are good for you and one guest.

Good luck!

Book Trailer: “The Dead House” by Dawn Kurtagich

January 13, 2016

Twenty five years ago Carly Johnson disappeared after a fire at her high school. Now a diary has been found in the ruins belonging to Kaitlyn Johnson, Carly’s twin. But Carly didn’t have a twin…dun dun dun. Spooky new title told through diary entries, court records, and psychiatrist notes.

Watch the trailer and then request your copy today.

Anticipated Titles 2016

January 11, 2016
by

The first part of 2016 has some great titles coming out. My TBR list just got even longer.

 

Click the book cover to reserve your copy today.

riders some of the parts this is where it ends thicker than water salt to the sea shade me rosemary spell rebel bully geek pariah

 

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.